Canalblog
Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog
Publicité
JIMMY SOMERVILLE
24 février 2012

The Communards: If I Could Tell You by W.H. Auden

W

Wystan Hugh Auden, ou W. H. Auden (1907-1973) poète britannique des plus importants et influents du XXème siècle.
En 1940, il publie un poème que Jimmy mettra en musique pour l'album Red de The Communards en 1987.

Time will say nothing but I told you so,
Time only knows the price we have to pay;
If I could tell you I would let you know.

If we should weep when clowns put on their show,
If we should stumble when musicians play,
Time will say nothing but I told you so.

There are no fortunes to be told, although,
Because I love you more than I can say,
If I could tell you I would let you know.

The winds must come from somewhere when they blow,
There must be reasons why the leaves decay;
Time will say nothing but I told you so.

Perhaps the roses really want to grow,
The vision seriously intends to stay;
If I could tell you I would let you know.

Suppose the lions all get up and go,
And all the brooks and soldiers run away;
Will Time say nothing but I told you so?
If I could tell you I would let you know.

W.H. Auden reading himself this poem [Here!]

The song by The Communards [Here!]

Publicité
Publicité
Commentaires
E
Très interessant...jusqu'á ce jour j'ai cru que Jimmy êut écrit les paroles lui-même. Merci, DAYM.
Répondre
Visiteurs
Depuis la création 141 175
Publicité
Derniers commentaires
Publicité